The principle of district organization is also followed in the legislative provisions for hospital and medical care. Of the 34 hospital districts now organized, all but two contain at least one general hospital often augmented by one or more medical nursing units. Medical care has also been organized through municipal prepayment plans, provincially subsidized.

Provincial mental institutions are operated at Winnipeg, Selkirk and Brandon and a school for the mentally defective at Portage la Prairie. Community mental health services are also conducted, including out-patient services at mental hospitals and child guidance clinics.

Provincially operated clinics provide preventive and treatment services for venereal disease. Tuberculosis control is administered by the Sanatorium Board of Manitoba and services include diagnostic and travelling clinics, chest X-ray surveys and a rehabilitation program. The Province assists in the program by maintaining a Central Registry of Tuberculosis and a follow-up service for discharged patients by public health nurses. The cost of hospitalization and treatment in sanatoria is met by provincial grants and by payments from municipalities determined by the patient-days accrued by residents. The Manitoba Cancer Relief and Research Institute, which is subsidized by the Province, administers all cancer activities. A free cancer biopsy service is provided throughout the Province while radium and X-ray treatments are available without charge in rural areas and at a nominal charge in urban areas.

Laboratory services are provided through provincial laboratories at Winnipeg, Brandon and Portage la Prairie. In addition, the Department distributes drugs to doctors, hospitals and government agencies including penicillin and other drugs for venereal disease, insulin and other biologicals for indigents and antibiotics for tubercular patients.

The Provincial Government contributes a per diem grant to hospitals and sanatoria for all public-ward patients and lump sum grants to teaching hospitals.

Saskatchewan.—The Saskatchewan Department of Public Health was reorganized in 1950 and now includes four main Branches: Preventive Services, Regional Health Services, Medical and Hospital Services and Psychiatric Services. The Health Services Planning Commission functions as an advisory and planning agency on major policy and administrative matters in the Department.

The Preventive Services Branch includes divisions of communicable disease control, child health, laboratories, venereal disease control, nursing services, dental health, nutrition and sanitation. The Communicable Diseases Division distributes free vaccines and sera to doctors, health departments and hospitals, and supervises immunization programs and poliomyelitis clinics at Saskatoon and Regina. The Child Health Division provides services for crippled children, including mobile consultation units and a rehabilitation centre for the cerebral palsied. Public health laboratory services and the free distribution of certain drugs and biologicals are carried out by the Provincial Laboratories. Field services for venereal disease, tuberculosis, mental health and other public health programs are provided by the Nursing Services Division.

The Regional Health Services Branch is responsible for the organization of health regions which are administered by locally elected health boards although staff is appointed and financial assistance is provided by the Province. Seven of the 12 proposed regions are currently in operation. In addition to the general